Insemination by spouse?

I’m wondering if anyone has ever done a donor IUI where their spouse/partner was the one to push the plunger on the syringe with the sperm in it–effectively, making him the one who “got me pregnant”?

Let me know.

8 responses to “Insemination by spouse?

  1. I have! Or really mine has!

    We are using a known donor and do 2 insems. per month. We are currently in our third cycle of trying this way. Previously we had been doing dIUIs at the RE’s office (same donor), but it was getting so expensive!

  2. Hi and welcome to the blogosphere. I’m another one pursuing DI, so I hope it’s ok if I pop in and follow your journey.

    We haven’t done an IUI where my husband pushes the plunger, but I’m going to ask to do that next time. I live in Canada, so we’re only paying for sperm and don’t have to pay for the procedures themselves, so it’s not a money issue – just more, like you say, to be able to feel like we’re making the baby together.

    I’m interested in your story especially because we chose DI without it being our only choice, too – my husband had an unsuccessful vasectomy reversal, and so we could try to retrieve sperm from him to do IVF/ICSI. But we just don’t feel that’s the right path for us – for a number of reasons, money being one of them. I do wonder whether I’ll struggle with this choice in the future or whether I’ll question that I did the right thing, but I guess all I can do is follow my heart and my instincts and do the best I can right now, and it feels like we’re doing that. It’s very hard, though, to accept this choice when there’s a little question mark floating around the back of my brain, wondering, “what if?”

    Anyway, welcome!

  3. I found you from Stirrups. 🙂

    Although I didn’t get pregnant, that’s the way my DH and I tried so that we could indeed say he got me pregnant.

  4. Hello and welcome! Found you via LFCA.

    At one of the clinics my husband was able to thaw the sperm by holding the vial. He also assisted the doc by handing him the swimmers.

    I don’t know where you are in the process, but home insemination is another option.

    But if that’s what you want, I’m sure your doc can make it happen! 🙂

  5. Hi, I also found you through LFCA. I know someone that got pregnant her first try with home DI. She doesn’t blog, but I could maybe direct her to your blog and get you guys in contact if you had questions.

    I used DI, but we did in office IUI. I have a password protected blog, but if you are interested in reading it you can e-mail me and I can get you access. I went PP after we got pregnant because my husband wanted me to keep things a little more private. I’m going to read on further and wish you all the best!

  6. Leslee: so, are you doing home IUIs? Or home ICIs? I’ve never heard of being able to do an IUI at home…but if it’s possible…hmm. Is it common to do two insems a month? We’re only doing one, as far as I know.

    Annacyclopedia: I wonder whether I’ll regret this in the future, too. But we do only what we can, make the best decisions for our families using the currently available data. Maybe in a few years IVF will come down in price–but I’m not about to wait a few more years!

    Twondra: Neat! I think we’ll ask the doc if we can do it, too.

    No swimmers: How does home insems work? Can’t do IUIs, can you? We’re really at the beginning of the process, but I feel like I’m learning so much just by reading around!

    Somewhat ordinary: I’d love to talk to your friend. I think I’m going to post my list of questions for people who used donor gametes in the next couple of days, so watch for that. Also, I’d like the password–email me jen at ceejayoz dot com. Thanks!

  7. Technically, they’re IVIs… intra-vaginal inseminations. We take the fresh sample, use a 5cc syringe and my husband “pushes the plunger” as you said. Then I just lay there for 30 minutes minimum… I prefer doing the insem right before bed so I don’t get up until the next morning. We’re doing two because our donor has agreed to do two with us.

    Good luck!

  8. Here from LFCA. 🙂 I’m in a same-sex relationship, so it’s always been donor sperm for us. We did at home IVI/ICI, but I do know several people who’ve done at-home IUIs using these instructions. Additionally, some doctors will let the husband or partner push the plunger.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

