Here we go!

Horray!  I got my period this morning(since CJ has such bad sperm, we knew I wasn’t pregnant), and we are all set to start this cycle.  I wasn’t able to call the clinic this morning(they had already closed by the time I got up), SO I’ll call them tomorrow morning, go in for the baseline u/s and bloodwork either tomorrow or monday.  Start Clomid on Weds.  Looks like we’ll have a weekend inspermination(h/t to No Swimmers), probably Dec 6th or 7th.  Which is good, because the 3rd and 4th we’re going up to Toronto.

We went to Carters today, and bought some baby stuff to celebrate.  A really nice diaper bag, two sleepers (one with ducky feet!  I have a thing for ducks), and a few bibs.  Cute stuffs.

Exciting, exciting stuff.  I have to say, though, it doesn’t feel at all real.  I have a hard time seeing myself having a baby.  Whenever I think about it, it feels like it’s happening to someone else.  It’s been so long…2 years that we’ve been actively trying.  Seven years since my first miscarriage.  After 7 years, how does one maintain hope at all?  I told my therapist yesterday that if this cycle doesn’t work, I’m going to be absolutely crushed.  I’ve got so many hopes riding on this…

Stats I’ve seen say that there’s a 15-20% chance of getting pregnant in any one IUI cycle.  I try to remember that those stats are derived from all IUIs, including those done for female factor infertility.  Considering there are no problems known with me, we should have slightly better odds.  Another stat I’ve seen says that it takes 1 iui for 20-25 year olds, 3 for 25-30 year olds, and so on.  Since I’m 25, I’m not quite sure what to make of that.  Hopefully it will only take one, right?

One response to “Here we go!

  1. YAY!!! I’m rooting for you! Just to let you know I didn’t have any fertility issues and got pregnant at 30 after my first DIUI. I was sure it wasn’t going to work. We had more than one vile, but the doctor said he thought we would be fine with just 1 insemination on the day of ovulation. He was right!

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

