Hyperemesis gravidarum

Yep, that’s me.  Good ol hyperemesis.

Spent today in the ED, getting rehydrated and given compazine.  Threw up at least 30 times today.  They sent me home with Compazine suppositories and Zofran ODT-oral disintegrating tablets.  The next step would be a zofran pump: IV or subQ zofran around the clock.  I don’t want that, but I’m pretty damn sick of vomiting.

CJ is making me a fabulous dinner tonight–let’s hope I can keep it down!  My throat and neck muscles are aching from the strain, and I think I blew up some vessels in my eyes.

Really hoping I’m not one of those women who have this for the duration of the pregnancy.  At 5w3d today, we’ve got a long ways to go.

9 responses to “Hyperemesis gravidarum

  1. Wow, I’m so sorry! I hope this passes quickly.

  2. I am soooo sorry that you’re having to suffer through this. Other than what you’re probably doing, I have no suggestions.

    I was going to joke about crackers and gingerale, but I remember how tired I got of hearing that.

    Seasickness bands did seem to help a tiny bit once in a while. 🙂

  3. I am so sorry. I do understand. I have the same diagnosis. I’m 25 weeks along and down to 1 8mg zofram a day. The first trimester was hard. I couldn’t keep water down. At around 16 weeks, things got slightly better and I could get off the couch and easily stay hydrated. Then at 20 weeks I had another break through and could eat a bit more.

    I found that room temp foods stayed down the best. Subway Veggie Subs and spring rolls. I can’t handle any dairy, so I’m trying to eat tums for Ca.

    I’ve managed to gain about 20 lbs after loosing about 10 in the 1st trimester.

    I felt the only thing that worked for me was the zofran. Sea Bands, ginger, sour candy, and any other remedie didn’t keep me from vomiting. The zofan did/does for the most part. I still feel nauseous all the time, but it’s not a debilitating thing.

    I wish I had some better advice for you. I do understand though. It’s real and it’s not in your head.

  4. I have been throwing up like Crazy it sucks! I take Zofran and it helps with keeping things down. I still throw up but not half as much! I am at 15 weeks today and I am still sick but its getting better! I hope you feel better soon!

  5. Oh! I hope this passes quickly for you !

  6. annacyclopedia

    Oh my gosh. I hope the drugs they’ve given you bring complete relief very very soon. I’m thinking of you and sending healthy digesting thoughts your way!

  7. Hi there, over from Lost and Found. I hope you feel better soon! A friend of mine had the pump, and she felt much better after that. Hopefully you don’t have to get that though! Sending you warm wishes.

  8. Ugh ugh ugh. A friend of mine had HG (lasted through the day of delivery) and had some relief from drugs and acupuncture.

    Early on she tried to tough it out without drugs, but after she lost a bunch of weight (and she was already very tiny) they finally caved and started on the drugs. She also would wait a long time before seeking help… at one point, when she went to the hospital, they told her she should have come in for an IV a week earlier. So, don’t be a hero. (You already are.)

    My other suggestions: keep your hair permanently tied up, and put a chair in the bathroom.

    Hope it improves soon!

  9. Get the pump, now. It will (probably) help immediately, and the sub-q pump really isn’t a big deal at all. It’s about the size of two decks of cards, fits in your jeans pocket, and it’s just a tiny little plastic catheter under your skin, barely wider than a few strands of hair.

    The longer you go on being dehydrated and miserable, the longer it takes to get back to normal strength, even after you get the nausea stopped. Unless you are feeling pretty good on the oral meds, try the pump ASAP; if it doesn’t work any better, you can always go back to the pills.

    Forget a chair in the bathroom, just keep a large bowl handy. I couldn’t stand the smell of even a sparkling clean bathroom — did you know that porcelain itself has a smell, at least when you have HG? — and a bowl was more tolerable. Also, prepare your husband to realize that cooking and hot food may be out of the question for weeks or months. I STILL get queasy when I catch a whiff of a food he likes to cook for himself, which made me throw up time and time again.

    The forums at helpher.org were very helpful to me, too.

    So sorry you’re going through this. It’s really a bear.

Leave a Reply

