Surprise Ultrasound–Edited to Add PICS

Quick Summary: There’s still two, and they are Just Fine.

So, we had another doctor’s appointment today to see how the hyperemesis is going.  Basically, I’m still throwing up between 15 and 35 times a day, on 8mg of Zofran every 6 hours(this is the max dose).  The zofran dose just got raised yesterday, so we’re hoping for a better day today and a better weekend.  Dr S says if I keep vomiting like this, I’m going to have to have an NG tube–where they stick a tube down my nose, into my stomach, and run liquid nutrition through it.  He doesn’t want to do TPN(IV nutrition) unless we have to, and neither do I–though I’m not sure I’d be able to keep the NG formula down, either.  Next appointment is next Friday and we’ll see how things are going then.

Preface to the next story, which I am quite embarrassed about:  I am extremely easily freaked out, and very fearful that we’re going to lose one or both babies.  So, earlier in the week, I was..umm…struggling on the toilet, and mid-push, I feel something come…slipping out.  Of my vagina.  Something large and gooey.  Now, the rational part of me goes, “Hey. You’ve had increased cervical fluid/mucous, it was probably that, so don’t freak out.”  The completely irrational, and thus in control, part of me goes, “Oh my god, I just pooed out one of the babies.”  I couldn’t look in the toilet.  I just spent the week FREAKING OUT.

So, I decided, pride be damned, I’m going to say something about it to Dr S, and ask for an ultrasound.  The guy is a saint–he didn’t even bat an eye, just filled out the ultrasound requisition and got me in for a scan before I could even leave the office.  So, woo, surprise ultrasound.  And the (not so surprising)news: they’re perfect.  There’s still two of them, they’re both measuring 7w5d(spot on), and we got to hear the heartbeats! (once I calmed down enough to hold still)  Baby A is ticking along at 152, Baby B at 155.  We even got a DVD with the videos, which I will link to as soon as CJ gets them uploaded.

I cannot tell you how relieved I am.

Edit: Here’s the babies!

Edit 2: Argh, can’t get the videos to embed.  Here’s links:
Baby A   Baby B

4 responses to “Surprise Ultrasound–Edited to Add PICS

  1. annacyclopedia

    Oh, wow. “I just pooed out one of the babies.” That is totally something I would freak out about, too. And I guess because I could see myself thinking that, it made me laugh really hard.

    Good for you for not letting your pride get in the way of your peace of mind!

  2. Delurking to say congratulations on the twins and don’t be afraid to to do the IV nutrition. I had to have a home IV through a picc line with three of my pregnancies and I am sure that it saved my life. I still felt a little sick, but the puking went down to 2x/day. HG is awful, but keep your eyes on the reward at the end :)! Feel free to email me with questions or for assvice. (BTW, I knew you were having twins as soon as you posted that you were sick so early because I got very, very sick, but it never started before 5 1/2 weeks for me.)
    Janice

  3. I hope the increased dose of Zofran is working!!!

    I’m glad that both the babies are still doing wonderfully. And just so you know you’re not alone, I freaked out convinced I’d broken my water (early on in pregnancy) due to a difficult “movement”.

    Forgive me for not reading back and answering my question, but have your doctors told you to take Colace. Zofran is not nice to your intestines (that and the massive amount of hormones in your system). 🙂

  4. I’m so glad everything is going good! Those videos are fantastic!

Leave a Reply

