Oy, I got behind on posting.  Here’s the latest updates:

Spent last weekend in the hospital trying to get the hyperemesis under control, and it actually worked!  I haven’t thrown up in a week, which is amazing for me.  I’m still on tons of meds: Reglan,Phenergan, Benedryl.  We’re starting to try and wean off the meds, and so Dr S had me stop the Zofran yesterday.  So far, so good.  Still doing two liters of IV fluids a day, because I have a hard time drinking enough.  Still showing ketones in my urine too, which I don’t really understand: I’m not starving myself anymore; I can eat real meals, so why is my body still breaking down the fat stores?

Had our 5th ultrasound yesterday for the first trimester screen, and it went great.  If I remember correctly, the nuchal measurement is supposed to be less than 2mm, and Baby A was 1.0mm, Baby B was 1.2mm.  Of course, we have to wait for the bloodwork to get the official results, but I’m not too worried.  The babes actually looks like babies now, instead of like gummy bears.  Can see hands, feet, legs, noses(!), watch them roll and move around…Pretty cool.  Baby A was lying with her feet crossed at the ankle, which I found to be exceedingly cute.  Videos are up on Flickr here.

I’m starting to show, which I guess isn’t too surprising considering the ultrasound tech says the tops of my uterus is at my navel.  I had no idea it was that big, but it makes sense–both babies are about 5-5.5 cm long, with 8-10cm sacs…lots of stuff in there taking up space.   Anyways, most of my shirts are too short now, they ride up around my belly.  We need to go out and buy some maternity shirts today.  Can’t believe I’m 12 weeks and already in maternity clothes. 

Dr S found heartbeats yesterday with the doppler.  I haven’t tried yet with our home doppler, but hopefully we can find them soon.

So, things seem to be going well now.  I’m nearly out of the first trimester danger zone, which is a relief.  Hope all is well with everyone else!

One response to “

  1. So glad to hear that you aren’t throwing up anymore. Maybe now you can enjoy pregnancy! Those videos are incredible! We only got still photos at our ultrasounds.

Leave a Reply

